MIT community members elected to the National Academy of Engineering for 2023 | MIT News

MIT community members elected to the National Academy of Engineering for 2023 | MIT News

Seven MIT researchers are among the 106 new customers and 18 intercontinental members elected to the Countrywide Academy of Engineering (NAE) this 7 days. Fourteen extra MIT alumni, such as one member of the MIT Corporation, had been also elected as new customers.

1 of the highest professional distinctions for engineers, membership to the NAE is supplied to men and women who have produced superb contributions to “engineering investigation, exercise, or instruction, like, the place proper, major contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the revolutionary of new and creating fields of technologies, creating significant progress in regular fields of engineering, or creating/utilizing ground breaking strategies to engineering education.”

The 7 MIT scientists elected this 12 months contain:

Regina Barzilay, the Faculty of Engineering Distinguished Professor for AI and Well being in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Laptop or computer Science, principal investigator at the Computer system Science and Synthetic Intelligence Laboratory, and school guide for the MIT Abdul Latif Jameel Clinic for Equipment Mastering in Overall health, for equipment studying models that realize structures in text, molecules, and healthcare photos.

Markus J. Buehler, the Jerry McAfee (1940) Professor in Engineering from the Office of Civil and Environmental Engineering, for applying the use of nanomechanics to design and structure fracture-resistant bioinspired components.

Elfatih A.B. Eltahir SM ’93, ScD ’93, the H.M. King Bhumibol Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, for advancing comprehension of how local climate and land use impression h2o availability, environmental and human wellbeing, and vector-borne illnesses.

Neil Gershenfeld, director of the Middle for Bits and Atoms, for reducing boundaries between digital and actual physical worlds, from quantum computing to digital components to the web of things.

Roger D. Kamm SM ’73, PhD ’77, the Cecil and Ida Eco-friendly Distinguished Professor of Organic and Mechanical Engineering, for contributions to the comprehending of mechanics in biology and drugs, and leadership in biomechanics.

David W. Miller ’82, SM ’85, ScD ’88, the Jerome C. Hunsaker Professor in the Section of Aeronautics and Astronautics, for contributions in regulate technological innovation for area-dependent telescope style and design, and leadership in cross-company guidance of place technology.

David Simchi-Levi, professor of civil and environmental engineering, core school member in the Institute for Details, Units, and Society, and principal investigator at the Laboratory for Details and Choice Programs, for contributions working with optimization and stochastic modeling to greatly enhance source chain management and operations.

Fariborz Maseeh ScD ’90, everyday living member of the MIT Company and member of the School of Engineering Dean’s Advisory Council, was also elected as a member for leadership and innovations in successful style and design, growth, and producing of microelectromechanical units, and for empowering engineering expertise by public services.

13 more alumni had been elected to the National Academy of Engineering this yr. They are: Mark George Allen SM ’86, PhD ’89 Shorya Awtar ScD ’04 Inderjit Chopra ScD ’77 David Huang ’85, SM ’89, PhD ’93 Eva Lerner-Lam SM ’78 David F. Merrion SM ’59 Virginia Norwood ’47 Martin Gerard Plys ’80, SM ’81, ScD ’84 Mark Prausnitz PhD ’94 Anil Kumar Sachdev ScD ’77 Christopher Scholz PhD ’67 Melody Ann Swartz PhD ’98 and Elias Towe ’80, SM ’81, PhD ’87.

“I am delighted that 7 members of MIT’s faculty and many associates of the broader MIT community had been elected to the Countrywide Academy of Engineering this yr,” suggests Anantha Chandrakasan, the dean of the MIT School of Engineering and the Vannevar Bush Professor of Electrical Engineering and Laptop Science. “My warmest congratulations on this recognition of their numerous contributions to engineering exploration and schooling.”

Together with this year’s inductees, 156 associates of the Nationwide Academy of Engineering are recent or retired users of the MIT faculty and staff members, or users of the MIT Company.