School of Engineering Awards for 2022 | MIT News

School of Engineering Awards for 2022 | MIT News

The MIT College of Engineering recently declared its 2022 awards, honoring outstanding college, graduate, and undergraduate learners.

The Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching, given to a school member whose contributions have been characterized by devotion, treatment, and creativity, was presented to Michael Limited, Course of ’42 Affiliate Professor in Nuclear Science and Engineering.

The Junior Bose Award, for an remarkable contributor to education from among the the junior college of the University of Engineering, went to Irmgard Bischofberger, the Class of 1942 Career Improvement Professor in Mechanical Engineering.

Ruth and Joel Spira Awards for Excellence in Educating are awarded each year to just one college member in each and every of three departments — Electrical Engineering and Laptop or computer Science, Mechanical Engineering, and Nuclear Science and Engineering — to accept “the tradition of significant-top quality engineering education and learning at MIT.” A fourth award rotates among the Faculty of Engineering’s five other educational departments. This year’s recipients were being:

  • George Barbastathis, Singapore Investigation Professor of Optics and professor of mechanical engineering
  • Phillip Isola, Bonnie and Marty (1964) Tenenbaum Vocation Growth Assistant Professor
  • Nuno Loureiro, professor of nuclear science and engineering and professor of physics
  • Kevin O’Brien, Emanuel E. Landsman (1958) Career Development Professor and assistant professor

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, given to college students who show an superb possible and intend to pursue occupations in arithmetic, the normal sciences, or engineering disciplines that lead drastically to technological developments in the United States, was awarded to engineering pupils Zoë Marschner and Charlotte Wickert. 

The Henry Ford II Award, presented to a senior engineering college student who has managed a cumulative regular of 5. at the conclusion of their seventh time period and who has extraordinary opportunity for management in the profession of engineering and in modern society, was introduced to Sreya Vangara ’22, who double majored in mechanical engineering and electrical engineering and pc science.

The Capers and Marion McDonald Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Advising, awarded to a college member who has demonstrated a lasting commitment to the personalized and experienced development of some others, was introduced to Colette Heald, The Germeshausen Professor in the Division of Civil and Environmental Engineering.

The Graduate University student Remarkable Teaching and Mentoring Award, presented to a graduate pupil in the University of Engineering who has shown incredible training and mentoring as a educating or exploration assistant, was introduced to Keegan Mendez

The newly launched University of Engineering Distinguished Educator Award recognizing exceptional contributions to undergraduate and/or graduate schooling by members of its school and teaching workers (lecturer or teacher), was awarded to Barbara Hughey.